top of page

Women's International Forum's Film Screening "Silence of Others" and Transitional

Photo Credits: Society & Diplomatic Review

Women’s International Forum with the cosponsorship of the Permanent Mission of Spain to the United Nations, the Permanent Mission of Belgium to the United Nations the President of the Security Council, the Permanent Mission of Austria to the United Nations with the support of American Documentary POV hosted a private film screening of the award winning documentary film "The Silence of Others". The event took place at the United Nations

Trusteeship Council with the attendance of WIF members and various UN dignitaries.

Filmed over six years, The Silence of Others reveals the epic struggle of victims of Spain’s 40-year dictatorship under General Franco, as they organize a groundbreaking international lawsuit and fight a “pact of forgetting” around the crimes they suffered. A cautionary tale about fascism and the dangers of forgetting the past. The Silence of Others is the winner of a 2019 Goya – Spain’s Academy Award – the Berlinale Panorama Audience Award, Berlinale Peace Film Prize, Seefeld Doc/Fest Grand Jury Award, and more than 30 other international awards. It is directed by Emmy-winning filmmakers Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar and Executive Produced by Pedro Almodóvar.

Women's International Forum (WIF) is a non-profit, non-governmental organization founded in 1975 by the spouses of the Permanent Representatives to the United Nations and who make up the Executive Board of WIF. WIF traditionally has the patronage of the spouse of the UN Secretary General, and is currently padrone'd by Ms Catarina Vaz Pinto of Portugal spouse of the UN Secretary-General Antonio Gutteres.

Current WIF Executive Board Members: Zarina Varukatty (Singapore) President, Andrea Mlynarova (Slovakia) Treasurer, Latica Tomašić Kickert (Croatia/Austria), Pamela Jacovides (USA/Cyprus), Tanya Rattray (Jamaica), Manipreet Tina Kaur Koonjul (Mauritius), Adriana Arriola (Paraguay), Amy Gertze (Namibia), Cathleen de Kerchove (Belgium) and Lina Maria Fernandez del Portillo (Colombia), Marikami Fifield (Australia).

Photo Credits: Society & Diplomatic Review

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page