top of page

24th Annual UNCA Awards Gala

Photo Credits: Society & Diplomatic Review

The United Nations Correspondents Association hosted its annual gala on December 6th, 2019 at Cipriani Wall Street. Every year the gala awards winners for the best print, broadcast and electronic media coverage of the United Nations, UN agencies and field operations. The honored guests H.E. Secretary-General António Guterres and actress Ashley Judd attended along with Ambassadors from different Missions.

This year, the winners of The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize for written media are David Wainer, Bloomberg News, Ian Williams, Al Jazeera, and Guillame Oajot, XXI Magazine.

The Prince Albert II of Monaco awards for coverage of climate change went to A.Z.M Anas, The Financial Express, Lucy Sherriff, Freelancer, and Nathaniel Grotewold, E&E News.

The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize for broadcast media was given to Mohamed Abo-Elgheit, Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism, Benedict Moran and Jorgen Samson, PBS Newshour, and Rimma Zabolotna, Espreso TV.

The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize, sponsored by the Alexander Bodini Foundation, for written media (including online media). The prize is for print and online coverage of the U.N. and U.N. agencies, named in honor of Elizabeth Neuffer, The Boston Globe bureau chief at the U.N., who died while on an assignment in Baghdad in 2003

The Prince Albert II of Monaco and UNCA Global Prize for coverage of Climate Change. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio) for coverage of sustainable and equitable management of natural resources and the implementation of innovative and ethical solutions in three main categories: climate change, biodiversity, and water.

The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize, for broadcast (TV & Radio) media. The prize is for broadcast coverage of the U.N. and U.N. agencies, named in honor of Ricardo Ortega, formerly the New York correspondent for Antena TV of Spain, who died while on an assignment in Haiti in 2004.

UNCA Awards Committee:

Valeria Robecco (UNCA President) Giampaolo Pioli (Awards Chairman) Tuyet Nguyen (Awards Selections Coordinator) Jianguo Ma (UNCA Vice President) Sherwin Bryce-Pease (UNCA Executive Member) Maria Khrenova (UNCA Executive Member) Betul Yuruk (UNCA Executive Member)

Photo Credits: Society & Diplomatic Review

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page